C.B.H. Reviews: “Throne of Glass” By Sarah J. Maas

C.B.H. Reviews: “Throne of Glass” By Sarah J. Maas

Available: Amazon/B&N/Goodreads

 

Over the last few years, I kept hearing about this series. I ignored the cries coming from my TBR pile till I happened to come across the first book in the series on my library’s shelf. 

Not going to lie, it took me a couple months to get through it. I was disappointed in all the hype for it because it needed a lot of work. Plus finding out it was supposed to be another retelling of Cinderella made it worse.

Lately, I’ve been witnessing several YA books having tons of hype but no dice when I read them. Many authors today suffer from “All Tell, No Show Syndrome” or A.T.N.S.S. for short. This book is no exception to the sickness, not by a long shot. Throughout the book, we are practically battered over the head with how the “assassin” Celaena Sardothien racked up a large body count and should never be trusted. Did we see evidence of this body count? Hahahahaha, no. Did we see evidence for lack of trust? Again, no.

All I got out of this book was this girl is a huge flirt, a book worm, and is pissed because her parents are dead, she was caught, and the injustice in the world she lives in. We only see a pinch of her abilities at the end of the book, and she doesn’t even prove her assassin status in that! It took me two months, two months to complete this! After being dragged through the mud in the muck, I was left feeling tired, frustrated, and wondering why I even bothered trying to read it. Then there are the men or what I obviously figured out to be the “love interests” of the series, The Captain of the Guard and the Crown Prince.

Want to know what turns me off pretty quick? Creepy guys! Those two watched her as she slept and constantly watched her from afar. It didn’t help she kept winking and practically throwing herself at them. You know, at first, I liked the Prince, but the whole sneaking up and watching her while she slept all the time killed my attraction. Oh, and if she is such a bad assassin…why didn’t she hear them and wake up? A trained assassin should always be on alert! Previous point proven.

I know this series has a huge following; however, I’m siding on the non-fan side. A fellow reader pleaded for me to continue onto the sequel, that it would be much better than the first. As stated in my last post, I’m currently reading the sequel and so far it is better but I’m only in the first few chapters.

What were your thoughts on this book/series?

Let me know in the comments below!

 

My Rating: 5 out of 10 Book Charms

 

Happy Reading,

~C.C.

One thought on “C.B.H. Reviews: “Throne of Glass” By Sarah J. Maas

  1. While we have entirely different takes on this one, I enjoyed your review. I love comparing opposing thoughts! It is always so fun to see how personal a reading experience truly is. I do agree the book was slow and left a lot to be “desired” in some areas, but I felt it was more of an opening so I was somehow okay with this. I had no idea though that this is marketed as a Cinderella retelling? I have never encountered that information. Now I am curiously digging haha. I do admit, that while I enjoyed this one, it is easy understand what doesn’t work for many 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

