C.H.B. ARC Review: Give Me a K-I-L-L By R.L. Stine

C.H.B. ARC Review: Give Me a K-I-L-L By R.L. Stine

29939078

Available: Amazon; Goodreads

**Disclaimer: I received an ARC copy of this book via NetGalley and St. Martin’s Press in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my review whatsoever.**

Ok, where should I start? I’m extremely frustrated with this book. Like I said in my past post about my thoughts about the Fear Street Revival series, I had high expectations for the reincarnation of the memorable long running late 80s/90’s thriller book series. Had. I understand when a writer is used to writing in a certain fashion that earns them best-seller credits, they stick with it. But writing, technology, and teenagers have changed since the 90s. What I have read screams 90s and the kids are stuck there with a few of the technological advances of today but do not show they are part of the present. Give Me a K-I-L-L reminded me of the old Fear Street novels but it lacks the proper planning, age-fitting dialogue, and lacked the foundation the original novels laid down.

The Original Cheerleaders

 

R.L. Stine is no stranger to penning tales of cheerleaders with a taste for horror. I highly recommend readers to read the original books if you are thinking about reading the revival  “cheerleader” book. I still hope one day the Fear Street series will be transformed into an anthology series and these books will be transported to the screen because this specific story line in this series is one that sparks terror into the imagination. It has possession, evil spirits, mysterious deaths, and secrets-everything you could hope for.

Alas, the revival book has NOTHING to do with the these books. Yeah, nothing. Give Me a K-I-L-L surrounds the story of Gretchen (name now changed to Heather Wyatt) transferred to Shadyside High from her old school where she was the star of her cheerleading squad. Only she’s finding out quickly that it won’t be so easy to receive a spot on Shadyside’s cheerleading squad. Not if the spoiled little rich girl Devra Dalby has anything to say about it.

tumblr_oh0c3ahv1k1rdkhz0o1_500.gif

I admire Stine for adding two twists to this book but it does not excuse the fact it has nothing to do with the old Cheerleader books. I wished it did because it would have re-awakened my faith in this revival series! This review would have been more positive…..and ecstatic…but why, why did he have to do this? The main character treats her mother like trash, Devra Dalby is true to the spoiled little rich girl stereotype, the end result predictable, and the romantic aspect made me feel uncomfortable.

My question is: Where did my Fear Street go?

 

My Review: 3 out of 10 Book Charms

 

Happy Reading!

~C.C.

Leave a Reply

