C.H.B. Reviews “Eerie” by C.M. McCoy

C.H.B. Reviews “Eerie” by C.M. McCoy

28252234

Available: Amazon; Goodreads

**Disclaimer: I received a copy of this book from the author in exchange for a honest review. This does not affect my opinion nor my review in any way.**

 

Twin orphan sisters Hilary and Hailey Hartley always stuck together through thick and thin. Planning on going to college at the same time, they save up their money by working in their family’s bar. They have a loving uncle who raises them under the watchful eye of a hot-blooded Irishman alongside their childhood friend Finn/Padraig. Everything seemed to be going great, until Hilary is kidnapped and body is later discovered.

Hailey attempts to pick up the pieces as much as she can while finding out she received a full ride scholarship to an Alaskan based college called Bear Towne University where everything is not so normal as it originally seemed. Imagine a supernatural Hogwarts filled with Banshees, zombies, ghosts, and book worms. I’m serious, literal book worms. If these worms don’t have their tiny spectacles, books, and diet of tea they become ear worms who bury themselves into human ears in order to reach the brain.

Anyways, there is a love triangle, a confusing one at that. The main love interest is an Envoy named Asher. Asher has been a figment of her dreams since she was a child. Only, Hailey does not remember anything that occurs in the dreams until after Hilary dies. Then she discovers Asher is actually real and is the founder of Bear Towne. Plus, he has ulterior motives when getting involved with Hailey instead of solely liking her for her.

Turns out a handful of Asher’s kind are stuck on Earth, searching for a way to get back to their home in another dimension. The longer they are around emotions, especially love, they become stark raving mad. This includes becoming murderous Jack Torrence wannabes *coughs* evil Envoy Cobon *coughs*.

tumblr_mh1gzetcli1qldrydo1_500

tumblr_n6ij3s8ao91qhf4j4o3_250Second love interest, obviously, is Finn. I don’t have to really explain why because the whole childhood friend crush thing is frequent in recent books. Honestly, Finn comes off as this player most of the time, is extremely self-centered regarding his looks, and enjoys using his “manly” ways in order to get girls to do what he wants. Now seeing as knowing Hailey most of her life, you wouldn’t think he would do the same thing to her. WRONG! Him, just like Asher, have alternatives in what they want from Hailey. While I was reading this, I could not get the image of Chris Evan’s character when he was in Scott Pilgrim Vs. The World. Even the way he interacts with the Envoys has me hearing Chris’s voice!

Thoughts Whole Book

For a first book in a new series, it hits you with quite a bit of info. I read it twice in order to make sure I didn’t miss anything. I wish Hailey would show more backbone!! Whenever I’d hear Finn or even Asher mention she was a feisty girl, I highly disagreed. I did not see any feistiness in her at all. Instead, I see this girl who asks too many questions, cries too much,  does not stand up for herself, and allows both Asher and Finn to walk all over her in order to get what they want. I want to see her fight back in the next book!

Ending wise, I was left stunned. I even clapped after I finished the last page. I was totally not expecting it to turn out that way, period. It alone makes me excited for what is to come in the future.

tumblr_inline_nrlwytxdtz1qafrh6_500

Highly recommend this book if you’re looking for something new and exciting to add onto your shelf!

My Rating

8 out of 10 Book Charms!

 

Happy Reading!

~C.C.

One thought on “C.H.B. Reviews “Eerie” by C.M. McCoy

Leave a Reply

