Unpopular Opinions Tag-October Edition

Unpopular Opinions Tag-October Edition

I’ve seen this tag swimming around in my feed for months. Tags are like candy, you can never have just one but if you don’t stay on top of it, you’ll have a whole bunch of candy to eat and get sick in the end. So here is my turn on tackling this beloved Tag.

1. A Popular Book or Series that you didn’t like.

The Hunger Games, the jump-start of the Dystopian movement. I read it just to read it and it was ok, but not great. The moment someone mentions it, I roll my eyes. There was more to the life of books than this series.

2. A Popular Book or series that every one else seems to hate but you love.

the-raven-boys-maggie-stiefvater

Everyone adores this series but I honestly could not stand it. I read this first book and couldn’t continue. The whole premise is interesting but the delivery is a bit of a mess. I may get some backlash from this because many people like the fact love the fact Gansey flip flopping his personality. I previously reviewed this book a few months ago and I stick by what I say, this book just didn’t do it for me.

3. A Love Triangle where the main character ended up with the person you did NOT want them to end up with.

2722413

 

I hate the series but yeah….Belthazar deserved better….

4. A popular book Genre that you hardly reach for.

Fantasy, Dystopian, and Sci-F. I have tried to read a mix of them into my normal routine but it’s difficult. It’s like this huge list of responsibilities that is thrown upon me for the sake of my book loving community and…and….procrastination rears it’s ugly head.

5. A popular or beloved character that you do not like.

Katniss Everdeen….overrated. And I HATE the film adaption of her too! She deserved a personality. She’s supposed to come off as a fighter to me when, especially in the last novel, she doesn’t fight. She more or less just hears what’s going on then reacts.

6. A popular author that you can’t seem to get into.

John Green and Nicholas Sparks. I can’t do it. I can only take so much sadness or sappiness before I slam the book shut or give it away.

7. A popular book trope that you’re tired of seeing. (examples “lost princess”, corrupt ruler, love triangles, etc.)

tumblr_inline_nr6wbpDYz81t9n8t0_500.gif

LOVE TRIANGLES!!!!!!!!!!! They have become too much for me. Pick a guy, or girl, and stick to her! Don’t go all flip-floppy on me! It’s not creative anymore. The moment I find out there is a love triangle in a series, I’m not going to touch it. It was fun and games when I was an innocent teenager but now that I’m older it’s not fun anymore. It’s more exhausting than anything else these days.

8. A popular series that you have no interest in reading.

I can’t think of any at the moment, temporary brain fart in progress.

9. The saying goes “The book is always better than the movie”, but what movie or T.V. show adaptation do you prefer more than the book?

This is the biggest reason why I love writing posts of the movie adaption verses the original book. My list is extremely short of adaptions I prefer better than their original counterparts. I have a problem with The Vampire Diaries, Twilight series, and a few others. When I think about good adaptions, my brain immediately goes straight to one movie and one movie only……The Princess Bride!

tumblr_n81yusJHYv1t0s9uvo1_500.gif

Ahhh, Wesley. I read the book in high school after watching the movie over and over again. There are a few pieces of the book that would have been awesome if they were in the movie. But the movie is perfection on it’s own! Seriously, look like that face! You can’t say no to it!

I challenge, YOU READERS, to take this challenge! Don’t forget to tag me in your posts so I can see your responses!

Happy October Reading!

~C.C.

Leave a Reply

