C.H.B.R.: Let’s Discuss “The Raven Boys”, Shall We?

C.H.B.R.: Let’s Discuss “The Raven Boys”, Shall We?

Literally a few minutes ago, I finished the notorious first novel of The Raven King series. Needless to say, I won’t be reading any further. I am, I guess, a small majority of readers who did not get into this book. I fought long and hard not to give up on this.

This book was too slow, plot holes, lack of character growth, and chopped up then glued together scenes. If I had it my way, I’d edit it myself but alas that would probably be only 50% of the novel thrown into the trash. Without the trash, it’d have potential. I am heavily confused as to how it gained popularity in the first place, I truly am.

Amazon Description:

Every year, Blue Sargent stands next to her clairvoyant mother as the soon-to-be dead walk past. Blue never sees them–until this year, when a boy emerges from the dark and speaks to her.

His name is Gansey, a rich student at Aglionby, the local private school. Blue has a policy of staying away from Aglionby boys. Known as Raven Boys, they can only mean trouble.

But Blue is drawn to Gansey, in a way she can’t entirely explain. He is on a quest that has encompassed three other Raven Boys: Adam, the scholarship student who resents the privilege around him; Ronan, the fierce soul whose emotions range from anger to despair; and Noah, the taciturn watcher who notices many things but says very little.

For as long as she can remember, Blue has been warned that she will cause her true love to die. She doesn’t believe in true love, and never thought this would be a problem. But as her life becomes caught up in the strange and sinister world of the Raven Boys, she’s not so sure anymore.

Gansey reminds me of my high school friend who is a carbon copy of him! It’s frightening how similar they are, minus the wealth aspect. Adam, I’m sorry, but he’s a wimp. I know how abuse is but in order to SURVIVE, you take what you can get in order to get out of it. Adam did not do that to till the end of the novel then he keeps making stupid decisions till the very end. Ronan, now Ronan needed further development compared to the other two “Raven Boys”. He’s a fighter, mouthy, and Irish. BUT there is a time and a place for everything. In more ways than one, he overreacted too much.

Blue, at first, reminded me of myself. That is till she started not using her brain. Her family and friends, now those are people I’d love to be around but the author did not give them enough wiggle room to grow as characters. I wanted to learn more about them, period.

This book has a plot shoved under subplots that choke it to death with ridiculousness and another stupid love triangle. If I could pen a letter to Blue, it’d go like this:

“Dear Blue, you have smarts, use them. You barely know ANY of these boys. Adam is clearly putting himself in danger when he can be a man and actt like one. Gansey is a complicated guy. Leave them BOTH alone. Prophecy or not, leave the drama alone! Focus on helping Gansey find the mysterious Glandower then move on with your life.

Sincerely,

~C.C.”

I couldn’t wait to write about this. Here is the rating:

My Rating: 4 out of 10 Book Charms

Happy Reading,

~C.C.

One thought on “C.H.B.R.: Let’s Discuss “The Raven Boys”, Shall We?

Leave a Reply

