Charmed Haven Book Reviews: Evernight By: Claudia Gray

Charmed Haven Book Reviews: Evernight By: Claudia Gray

2722413

So, it may seem that my past two months have been consumed by vampires. I don’t know what it is about this month. I think it’s because my surroundings have vastly changed in the short span of three weeks. New job, new schedule, and my brain wants to regress back to vampires.

I’ve read many reviews on Evernight. I saw quite a bit of positives more than negatives but for me, I have a high expectation for this monster. Blame it on me belonging to the generation who read Twilight by Stephanie Meyer. If you’ve read my last few posts on vampire books, you’ll see how high it is. With Stephen King, vampires are represented as the true masters of darkness who hide in the shadows and strike when you least expect it. In Stake That!you see vampires being romanticized and also feared but controlled at the same time. With Katie MacAlister,  it’s all romanticism and the true monsters are seeming to be the humans who prey upon the innocent. Evernight, well, I can at least sum it up in one word: Messy.

It’s books like these that I’m always afraid of opening up about because there is a huge fan base with this series.But I can’t keep silent. From the beginning towards the middle, the story felt like it did not know what it wanted to be. Was it a story about a girl having trouble fitting in at an ancient-feeling prep school, a girl trying to fit into a school where there are vampires hidden in the shadows, or is it about a girl who the boy she’s clearly obsessed with a vampire and she’s going to go through the Twilight motions of “I’m not afraid” cliche.

The main character, Bianca, drove me crazy with her obsession with Lucas. Yeah, he’s the first student/guy you meet at school, big deal. That does not mean you have to be constantly fantasizing or thinking about him. It’s super creepy. I know how teenagers can be but this girl is borderline-stalker Bella Swan. No Bueno!

tumblr_ndnw9dxzxG1se8ddwo1_500

The story is centered around this girl whose parents recently accepted employment with the remote Evernight Academy. Students range from “wealthy” families, clueless/weird individuals, and scholarship students who were basically normal people who were lucky to have the chance to get into the school. Bianca claimed to be an outsider which we later find out in the middle of the book that this is certainly not the case.

I don’t want to say the book was misleading but it was misleading. Aka, mess city. And her and Lucas are not what I call star-crossed lovers. They are merely two people on opposite sides who, if they really wanted too, could change their situation in one bite….see what I did there?

I just started the second book and so far, it’s actually a lot better than this one. It’s more organized, fresh, and mysterious. This one should be re-written and Bianca cleaned up. Although those of you who may be fans of this, I have to give it a low rating. When a girl annoys me too the point where I hate my imagination’s voice and image it conjures up for her, it’s bad. Now, Raquel I like. Raquel needs her own story as far as I’m concerned at this point.

4 1/2 out of 10 Book Charms

Am I the only one who feels this way toward this book? Let’s be honest. If you love this book, what was the plus points that made you like it?

Happy Reading,

~C.C.

Leave a Reply

