7 Books To Read On a “Snow Day”: Short Stories to Novels

7 Books To Read On a “Snow Day”: Short Stories to Novels

DSC_0470

From the East Coast to here in Kentucky, it’s a Winter Wonderland. Kind of late in the game with Christmas gone for almost a month, but better late than never. Then again, many of us are snowed inside for the time being. It’s cold outside, the hot cocoa is steaming, and these are the times where I raid my personal “library” shelves I have at home. I kind of hide the fact I have a reading problem unless guests are around. I keep all of my books in my apartment’s mini walk-in storage closet that is still “under construction” because I’m still having bookshelves put together to place in there. Despite that, it’s days like today where I’m thankful for my addiction.

DSC_0845.jpgIf you don’t have your own personal library at home or are looking for something new to read on days like this or in general, I have plenty of suggestions for you to check out. If your local library is like mine, they have an app you can download for your IPhone or Android where you can download different ebooks if you don’t have time to run over there, don’t want to spend money on Amazon or other sites to receive the books, or if you are snowed inside your house. If you want to purchase any of these suggestions, you can always check out Amazon to download these books or you can’t locate them on your library’s app.

Now these books range from Series to Novels to Short Stories. There are also books by independent authors because let’s face it, there are independent books that should be on the market today. Ladies and Gentlemen, I give my Top 7 Books To Read During a “Snow Day”. 

18871935
http://www.amazon.com/Small-Town-Charms-Mystery-White-ebook/dp/B00GQGBDF8/ref=asap_bc?ie=UTF8

1. Small Town Charms: Mystery of the White Witch By: Cora Cuba

This is an author you seriously need to keep an eye out for. Cora Cuba brings us the story about a woman named Mandy Flores. Mandy is sweet, innocent and has a big heart. She is hired by a man named Clyde, to take care of his comatose fiancee. At first, Mandy is getting used to the town along with her employers mountain top mansion. While spending time at a local bar, she befriends the bartender, Jessica. Now when it comes to bartenders, they listen to everything their patrons say. When Mandy let’s Jessica in on a little personal secret, we find out Jessica is actually a witch! 

The story continues to twist and transform into a novel of unexpected secrets and mayhem. I adored every minute! I’m planning on rereading it again! I also loved how well the author tied everything together. This is a novel you can read again and again and it never get old! The first book is now available for Free via Amazon and there are two more sequels to this series. 9 out of 10 and worth every penny.

 

51F7+piH7sL._SX307_BO1,204,203,200_
http://www.amazon.com/Everythings-Eventual-14-Dark-Tales-ebook/dp/B000FC0O40/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1453568394&sr=1-1&keywords=everything%27s+eventual

2. Everything’s Eventual: 14 Dark Tales By: Stephen King

For those interested in lighter fair and wanting to read in intervals, here is a fantastic collection of short stories for you to sink your teeth into! This book also includes the stories that inspired the films Riding the Bullet and 1408. Out of all of them, I’d have to say the very first one, Autopsy Room Four, would be my favorite. I can’t begin to describe how much this story had my eyes stuck on the page. When I first read it, I was sitting in a restaraunt enjoying a bowl of beef stroganoff. It was a mistake! By the time I finished reading, my food was cold and I had no appetite. Not saying it was bad but fantastic to the point where the whole world faded away and I was left wondering if the nurses and doctors were going to ever figure out if the man on their autopsy slab was truly still alive or not.

Each story is completely different from the one before. They range from mystery, thriller, to fantasy, to short golden lessons you’ll carry with you till the end. Another perfect read for begin stuck at home. Each story ranges in rank but over all, I give it a 8 1/5 out of 10.

 

51gLDjS5AsL._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_
http://www.amazon.com/My-Bear-Shifter-Boss-Book-ebook/dp/B019A45YHK/ref=sr_1_9?ie=UTF8&qid=1453563875&sr=8-9&keywords=My+Shifter+Boss

3. My Bear Shifter Boss By: Ashley Devlin

I read this book last month and I’m still waiting on the sequel. BUT it is still a great story. It follows the life of a girl named Karla. Now Karla is in the middle of a disagreement. Only this disagreement isn’t amongst humans but instead bear shifters. At first, she is worried about trying to get a new job one minute then the next she unexpectedly meets her boss and begins to fall for him. While I was reading it, I began to fall in love with the story just as quickly as Karla was falling for her boss.

For a debut novel, Ashley Devlin brings on the heat, the passion-filled story, and characters that keep you engaged. The end left me hanging to the point where I’m aching to read the sequel! Move over Werewolves, Bears have more to love!

I recently found out this ebook version of this novel is now FREE until January 24th so this would be the time to get it and dive in! I give this one a 9 out of 10 Book Charms. Do not wait to download!

 

18509623
https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/18509623-the-girl-from-the-well?from_search=true&search_version=service

4. The Girl From The Well By: Rin Chupeco

If you are an Anime or Manga fan, this book is for you. If you are a horror genre fan, this is great for you too! It is said that it’s just like a mashup of the films Ringu and The Grudge, but to me, it’s better than that. It tells the story from a vengeful ghost’s perspective. Only,  the vengeful ghosts kills child/teen murderers. Okiku, the ghosts, finds herself drawn to a young teenaged boy named Tark. Tark has been tormented by an evil spirit since he was a small child and the torment continues to grow. I enjoyed learning about the different Japanese techniques on exorcism and their annual chochin celebration of a spirit moving on into the afterlife.

I am now on the sequel The Suffering and has increased on level of intensity and thrills. Definitely a 10 out of 10 Book Charms! This is a series you want to get your hands on and read right now!

 

image2s
https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/176401.Truth_or_Dare?from_search=true&search_version=service

5. Truth or Dare By: R.L. Stine

This book is mainly for those who are feeling nostalgic. I reviewed another Fear Street book a couple months ago that I’ll be picking up again soon. This goes along with the whole current Snow theme we are currently going through.

This 90’s story is about a group of teens going up to a Ski condo for the weekend. That is until a blizzard hits, knocking out the phones, blocking the roads, and igniting murder amongst the group. Cheesy, I know, but it’s short and sweet and ends in classic R.L. Stine fashion. 5 out of 10 but it’s 90s cheese.

51IsENeTKeL._SX321_BO1,204,203,200_
http://www.amazon.com/Daughter-Regiment-Stephanie-Grace-Whitson-ebook/dp/B00LLIIZNO/ref=sr_1_1?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1453572138&sr=1-1&keywords=Daughter+of+the+regiment

6. Daughter of the Regiment By: Stephanie Grace Whitson

There was a time when all I read was Christian Fiction, now that has drastically changed. However, there are times where I go back to this genre and pick one out at random. This choice was tough but if you are into the Christian Fiction, Romance, and Historical Fiction genre, this is a novel you’ll enjoy.

Maggie Malone, an Irish immigrant, attempts to join the Union army to fight alongside her brothers in the Civil War. Bravery takes place within her heart and she pushes onwards despite setbacks as a woman. No matter what, she earns her “stripes” by banding with her brothers to create their own Irish Brigade to fight for freedom and justice.

The author did a fantastic job modeling the Irish Brigade after similar brigades that took place during the War. It also added to realistic feel of the story. 9 out of 10 Book Charms and worth a look at all the same.

The-Hound-of-the-Baskervilles
https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/8921.The_Hound_of_the_Baskervilles?ac=1&from_search=1

7. The Hound of the Baskervilles By: Sir Arthur Conan Doyle

When in doubt, go with a classic! Sherlock fans, come on, if you haven’t read this book then you are not a true fan. I don’t care if you love the show, you HAVE to read the original stories. This one is one of the best Sherlock stories ever written, hands down.

Sherlock and Dr. Watson are hired on a mysterious case about a terrifying beast who stalks around the Baskerville estate and moors. Recently there has been a murder and the new heir is said to be in danger. Who is this animal and could this “curse” be accurate or another perpetrator in Sherlock’s midst in need of capturing? 10 out of 10 Book Charms, you better read!

 

 

Usually, other blogs will do “Top 10” books, but top seven is luckier than 10. What do you think of the choices? What are you currently reading during this “snow day”?

Let me know in the comments and feel free to share reading suggestions!

Happy Reading!

~C.C.

DSC_0478

Leave a Reply

